Truly Amazing BBQ for the Gluten Free

Amazing Dad's BBQ Sauce = Amazing!!!

My family has always been the type to BBQ regardless of the weather. We are the crazy Canadians who will clear a path to the BBQ on those snowy winter days because a steak isn’t a steak unless it has those beautiful grill lines. However, there comes a point in the winter where we get 3 feet of snow all at once and it is impossible or unsafe  to get to the BBQ. Instead I stock my freezer full of meats awaiting the time when Spring arrives, so I can have my hubby stand in the rain in order to get my yummy BBQ fix.

With the weather now warming up I immediately went to the freezer and decided to pull out some fantastic looking back ribs. You can then understand my disappointment when looking at the ingredient list of some of my favourite BBQ sauces and noticing some questionable items listed. With my diet being more restrictive I have to be careful of the foods I select or it could mean a back flare up and a few days off of work.

Lucky for us, the Great Canadian Superstore has a huge specialty isle of gluten free, allergry free, and organic items. The only BBQ sauce on the shelf was Amazing Dad’s BBQ Sauce and it was gluten free. I have to put out a warning that is does contain corn starch for those with a corn allergy. Typically, I wouldn’t spend $6 on a BBQ sauce, but I really wanted those saucy ribs without any health troubles.

The dinner plan that night was BBQ ribs, sweet potatoes, and asparagus.

Here is my ribs prep recipe for those who want to have super saucy ribs (you can actually do the same steps with chicken). You need to start the process 3-4 hours before dinner.

  • Boil 2 racks of ribs for about 45 minutes;
  • Take ribs out of boiling water and cool for about 20 minutes;
  • Brush BBQ sauce generously over ribs;
  • Place in refrigerator until ready to BBQ (at least one hour).

For the sweet potatoes:

  • Microwave 2 large potatoes for 10 min on high or until soft;
  • Slice in medallions and place on BBQ tray or basket;
  • Drizzle with olive oil;
  • Sprinkle potatoes with onion powder, basil, thyme, oregano, paprika, salt, and pepper.

For asparagus:

  • Place on BBQ tray or basket;
  • Drizzle with olive oil.

So fire up the grill and brush the ribs every few minutes with sauce. Keeping the ribs in the refrigerator prior to cooking gives them a nice layer of sauce that sticks to the meat. Ribs are so messy, but worth it! The potatoes and asparagus need to be turned every 5 minutes – so easy!

The question really is, how was Amazing Dad’s BBQ Sauce?… it was worth every penny!!! The sauce is a perfect texture and sticks to the meat without dripping off. The best part of this sauce is that a little goes a long way, so one bottle will get you through a lot of family dinners. If you are looking for a tangy, sweet, and sticky gluten free BBQ sauce, I would definitely recommend you try it. I think we will be using it like ketchup at our house… tastes soooooo good!

Don't be scared, apply sauce generously!

Voila!
2 thoughts on “Truly Amazing BBQ for the Gluten Free

Leave a Reply

