Elizabeth Gordon’s Allergy-Free Desserts – my bible to baking!

My DD was enjoying the Cool Mint Patties from Elizabeth Gordon’s Allergy-Free Desserts!

I just finished another recipe from Elizabeth Gordon’s Allergy-Free Desserts and I wasn’t disappointed.

I started this website as Allergy-Free Treats because I started off my allergy-free journey with desserts being my biggest problem to make. I have taken classes in cake decorating and have made friend’s wedding cakes and multiple birthday cakes. I have always used the same fail proof recipes that everyone seems to enjoy – if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it! When I decided it was time to make some dietary changes due to my declining health it happened to coincide with my youngest daughter’s first birthday. I have always vowed to make my children’s birthday cakes and this year would be no different. I went along and made her birthday cake (cookie monster), but had to decline a piece of the cake that I worked so hard to make.

I then decided to write this allergy-free blog because I didn’t want others to miss those small moments in life where we sit around the table and break bread together – because now of course it has to be gluten-free/dairy-free/egg-free bread.

Probably the worst part of having an intolerance or allergy to multiple foods is not being able to eat cakes, pies, and cookies. I try to limit the amount of sugar I eat, but sometimes a girl just wants a chocolate fudge brownie!

Gordon’s book simplifies the baking process for the allergy-free and makes it a truly delicious experience. It is already bad enough having to spend all day in the kitchen trying to assemble a cake, so who wants to try their luck at an allergy-free option and fail. I am always looking for recipes that are equal in time and effort and taste amazing. Why should I get a cardboard tasting cookie?!? Trust me, this will not happen when cooking with Gordon’s Allergy-Free Desserts.

There is something for everyone in Allergy-Free Deserts and it is really worth the investment. When I go out to family/friend’s houses for supper, I usually offer to bring a dessert and I always look to my Allergy-Free Desserts bible!

My top 3 favourite desserts are:

Cool Mint Patties

You would never know that this recipe contains no milk… milk/egg free chocolate chips.

Cool Mint Patties

Key Lime Pie

Can you believe this… key lime pie using avocados??? Soooo creamy and allergy-free!

Key Lime Pie

Chocolate Zucchini Cupcakes

I like to think that the zucchini makes them low-fat…

Chocolate Zucchini Cupcakes

You can visit Elizabeth Gordon’s website at: http://myallergyfreelifestyle.com/

If you would like to purchase her book, you can find it on amazon and you can also have a sneak peak at her recipes. This book get’s 2 thumbs up from me!

http://www.amazon.ca/Allergy-Free-Desserts-Gluten-free-Dairy-free-Egg-free/dp/0470448466

3 thoughts on “Elizabeth Gordon’s Allergy-Free Desserts – my bible to baking!

Leave a Reply

