Novice Bread Making for the Allergy-Free (Using Bread Maker)

So as I have said before, I am not a trained chef and would probably make Gordon Ramsay yell, scream, swear, go off the deep end cringe at my ability to slice and dice a carrot. With that said, it is surprising at times that dinners/baking just seem to turn out okay or even delicious in the end.

How do I know this? My kids and hubby will eat it… the 3 biggest food critics on this earth.

After going to the grocery store and spending a fortune on gluten-free vegan bread ($7 per loaf) I decided that a bread maker would be a great investment.

Being an impatient person, I could not wait to use my bread maker. What I didn’t realize is that bread making requires patience… 3 hours! Are you kidding me? So I did like any impatient person, get my hubby to read the instructions, grab whatever gluten-free flour I could find (Bob’s Red Mill Gluten-Free All Purpose Flour), and hover over the bread machine for 3 hours to watch my creation (there was a lot of pacing involved). I didn’t follow any gluten-free recipe because they required eggs/milk, so I just looked up various recipes and made my own concoction – that is how I roll ;)

Ding Ding! Bread is done… so how did it turn out??? Looks good to me! It was dense (typical of the gluten-free vegan bread I have eaten) and toasts great. I put it in a large resealable bag to keep fresh and had some toast for breakfast. Yum yum!

Allergy-Free Bread (using bread maker)

Ingredients:

  • 1¼ cups water
  • 2 tbsp butter or margarine or vegan alternative (I use Earth’s Balance)
  • 4 cups Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 1½ tsp salt
  • 6 tsp Xanthum Gum
  • 1½ tsp (7 mL) bread machine yeast

 Directions:

1. Select loaf size (2lb).
2. Add ingredients to machine according to manufacturer’s directions.
3. Select Basic Cycle.

4 thoughts on “Novice Bread Making for the Allergy-Free (Using Bread Maker)

  1. Sounds wonderful! All good things take time, and yes sometimes patience, but worth it! Will try this recipe for sure.

Leave a Reply

